History of the Hall Latest Inductees Find an Inductee Nomination Form

Sports Hall of Fame

1967-1968 Men's Hockey Team

Inducted in 2002 as a Team

Institution: Loyola

Spirited, skilled and masterful is perhaps the most accurate way to describe the 1967-68 Loyola Warriors Men's hockey team. Under the direction of rookie head coach Dave Draper, this fun-loving group was the first Loyola Warrior hockey team to reach the national championships - and a historic journey it was. The team finished the season with a 15-1 win-loss record, which was the best in the country, better than 38 other schools. The Warriors defeated their archrival, the Sir George Williams Georgians, in the playoffs to win the Ottawa-St. Lawrence championship. Then it was on the nationals where the team drew the Toronto Varsity Blues in the first game. The Varsity Blues were considered the best team in the nation and were the two-time defending university champions. Cast in the underdog's role, Loyola was afforded no respect and no chance to win. But Draper and the Warriors went down in the history books as giant-slayers. A Mike Griffiths' goal, in double overtime, gave Loyola a 1-0 victory and a berth in the gold medal game. Unfortunately, the Alberta Golden Bears scored with 17 seconds left to play, skating away with a 5-4 victory and the gold medal. But the heart-wrenching loss couldn't diminish the accomplishments of the magical season.

Team Members

Bernie Austin, Normand Chouinard, Richard Dawson, John Donnelly, William Doyle, Michael Griffin, Christopher Hayes, Dan Heffernan, Brian Hughes, Robert Jastremski, Michael Lecour, Michael Lowe, L. Ian MacDonald, Brian Maguire, Dennis Maloney, Daniel McCann, James McCann, Gerry McGrath, Frank McNally, Andy Molino, Peter Morin Jr., Stephen Sanderson, Arthur Thomas Jr., Roger Wilding, and Dave Draper (coach)