Close search panel

History of the Hall Latest Inductees Find an Inductee Nomination Form

Sports Hall of Fame Inductee

1993 Football Team


Inducted in 2016 as a Team

Institution: Concordia

Concordia Stingers head coach Pat Sheahan told a student journalist that his 1993 team had "no marquee players". Instead he described them as dedicated and praised the players' work ethic. They were a scrappy bunch and every week someone different stepped forward to lead the way.

There was a lot of optimism in training camp and big talk about winning five or six games in the Ontario-Quebec Intercollegiate Football Conference, but the team was given an early reality check when it lost its first two games.

The Stingers turned things around in Week 3 with a 25-2 win over the Ottawa Gee-Gees. In the next game Paul Chesser blocked a field goal late in fourth quarter against the Queen's Golden Gaels to preserve a 19-16 victory.

Next, Concordia avenged an earlier loss to the McGill Redmen, winning 28-14 and taking the Shaughnessy Cup. Then came a narrow win over the Carleton Ravens thanks to a Mike Noble fumble recovery in the end zone for a TD with less than two minutes to play.

The 4-2 Stingers rolled into Lennoxville ready to take down the Gaiters and claim first place in the O-QIFC, but Bishop's delivered a crushing 34-7 loss.

Concordia finished with a 4-3 record tied in second place with McGill. The two teams met in the conference semifinal, and it was running back Kevin Norris's turn to shine. With 137 yards rushing and three touchdowns, he led his team to a 34-30 win.

Team Members

Jean-Francois Barsalou, Christian Beavais, Damani Best, Kevin Bileski, Andre Bolduc, Gregory Bradic, Kevin Cameron, Paul Chesser, Marco Ciamarro, Tom Cieslak, Luca Ciminelli, Jacob Cocks, Jim Craggs, Louis Daniele, Joe Di Giovanni, Farell Duclair, Paul Eyles, Angelo Filosa, Marc Fortier, Fred Gagnon, Robbie Gardiner, Paul Geary, Dominik Goulet, Donnovan Green, Nathan Greene, Daniel Grenier, Pat Guindon, Scott Hitchcock, Negelo Jean Claude, Patrice Jean-Noel, Danny Lavallee, Sean Leroy, Gary Locke, John MacDonald, Dimitrios Manolopolous, Frédériq Marquette, Clayton Martin, Dio Mastrodomenico, Joe Merandi , Dave Miller-Johnston, Denis Montana, Mark Montreuil, Lawrence Morrissette, James Monroe, Mike Noble, Kevin Norris, Giovanni Petrella, Luc Pelland, Dennis Pitselis, Andrew Rehel, Peter Simon, Mike Simoncic, Wayne Spencer, Brendan Tarry, Rob Taylor, Sean Timmons, Bill Venieris, Bernie Verbanac, Nat Vickers, Sebastien Vittecoq, Grant Allan, Bryan Carroll, Peter Chryssomalis, Darin D'Alessio, Arthur Farinha, Bob Hurtubise, Sylvain Jette, Bryan Vajda, Gerry McGrath, Dan McKinnon, Pete Regimbald, Pat Sheahan, Brian Blumer