Main » News

October 31, 2018 | Rugby (M)

Stingers place 11 on men's rugby honour roll

Eleven members of the undefeated Concordia Stingers men's rugby program were named to the RSEQ all-star teams announced by the conference today.

Seven players earned first team honours. They are props Stephen Martinez and Julian Alexander, flanker Eliott Goussanou, No. 8 Lucas Hotton, lock Jackson Marquardt and centres Charles Debove and Thomas Goetz, who is in his first season with the Stingers.

Named to the second team are hooker Michael Laplaine-Pereira, second row Dylan MacDonald, scrum half Jérome Lévesque and fifth-year fullback Jonathan Banks.

Four of the honorees were also all-stars in 2017. Hotton, Marquardt, Banks and Debove are all two-time all-stars. Debove was also the conference MVP in 2017 and was recognized for his leadership and community service in 2015.

The Stingers, who finished the regular season in first place with a perfect 6-0 win-loss record, host the fourth-place Sherbrooke Vert & Or in semifinal action on Saturday at 2 p.m. The all-star awards for both teams will be presented beforehand.

The game takes place at Concordia Stadium, 7200 Sherbrooke St. W.